From: OFFICE RECEPTIONIST, CLERK

To: <u>Martinez, Jacquelynn</u>

Subject: FW: SCJA Public Comment Letters

Date: Monday, April 15, 2024 3:36:16 PM

Attachments: SCJA Public Comment APR 11.pdf

SCJA Public Comment GALRs.pdf SCJA Public Comment RAP 18.25.pdf SCJA Public Comment CrR 4.7.pdf SCJA Public Comment CrR 8.3.pdf SCJA Public Comment CR 26.pdf SCJA Public Comment CR 28 CR 30.pdf

SCJA Public Comment BJA Remote Proceedings WG Rules.pdf

From: Valdez, Andrea < Andrea. Valdez@courts.wa.gov>

Sent: Monday, April 15, 2024 3:22 PM

To: OFFICE RECEPTIONIST, CLERK < SUPREME@COURTS.WA.GOV>

**Cc:** 'Chung, Samuel' <Samuel.Chung@kingcounty.gov>; Lee Muller, Allison

<Heidi.Green@courts.wa.gov>

**Subject:** SCJA Public Comment Letters

Good afternoon.

Please see the attached comment letters on behalf of the Superior Court Judges' Association. The proposed rules we are commenting at this time are:

- APR 11
- GALR 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, and 7
- RAP 18.25
- CrR 4.7
- CrR 8.3
- CR 26
- CR 28 & 30
- CrR 3.4, CR 1, CR 7, CR 26, CR 30, CR 39, CR 43, CR 45, GR 11.3, and JuCR 11.23 (Remote Proceedings)

Thank you,
Andrea Valdez, MPA (she/her/hers)
Senior Policy Analyst
Superior Court Judges' Association
Administrative Office of the Courts

Administrative Office of the Court

Andrea.valdez@courts.wa.gov



## Superior Court Judges' Association

Samuel S. Chung President

King County Superior Court 516 3rd Ave, Rm C-203 Seattle, WA 98104-2361 206-477-1417

Kristin Ferrera
President Elect

Chelan County Superior Court 401 Washington St, FI 5 Wenatchee, WA 98807-0880 509-667-2610

Jennifer A. Forbes
Immediate Past President

Kitsap County Superior Court 614 Division St, MS 24 Port Orchard, WA 98366-4683 360-337-7140

Shelley D. Szambelan Secretary

Spokane County Superior Court 1116 W Broadway Ave Spokane, WA 99260-0350 509-477-5792

Ken Schubert Treasurer

King County Superior Court 401 4<sup>th</sup> Ave N, Rm 2D Kent, WA 98032-4429 206-477-1567

**Board of Trustees** 

Raymond F. Clary

Spokane County Superior Court 1116 W Broadway Ave Spokane, WA 99260-0350 509-477-4704

**Chris Lanese** 

Thurston County Superior Court 2000 Lakeridge Dr, SW, Bldg 2 Olympia, WA 98502-1045 360-786-5560

Adrienne Thomas McCoy

King County Superior Court 516 3<sup>rd</sup> Ave, Rm C-203 Seattle, WA 98104-2361 206-477-1933

Susan Adams

Pierce County Superior Court 930 Tacoma Ave S, Rm 334 Tacoma, WA 98402-2108 253-798-7571

Laura M. Riquelme

Skagit County Superior Court 205 W Kincaid St, Rm 202 Mount Vernon, WA 98273-4225 360-416-1200

Norma Rodriguez

Benton/Franklin Co Superior Courts 7122 W Okanogan PI, Bldg A Kennewick, WA 99336-2359 509-736-3071

Josephine Wiggs

King County Superior Court 516 3<sup>rd</sup> Ave, Rm C-203 Seattle, WA 98104-2361 206-477-4933 April 15, 2024

Honorable Charles W. Johnson, Chair Honorable Mary I. Yu, Chair Supreme Court Rules Committee c/o Clerk of the Supreme Court Temple of Justice P.O. Box 40929 Olympia, WA 98504-0929

Dear Justice Johnson and Justice Yu:

Re: Suggested Changes to RAP 18.25

The Superior Court Judges' Association's (SCJA) Family and Juvenile Law Committee (FJLC) reviewed the proposed new Rule of Appellate Procedure (RAP) 18.25. This rule requires that minor victims of certain sexual offenses shall be referred to by their initials in all documents filed for the public record in criminal proceedings and civil commitment actions.

The SCJA supports this rule. This rule brings consistency among the three divisions of the Court of Appeals (COA). Currently, all three COA divisions have different rules regarding the use of names and/or initials for victims of sexual assault. This rule would also protect the privacy of those individuals.

Interestingly, the rule does not apply in any non-criminal proceedings, except civil commitment actions. The SCJA would suggest that the proposed rule cover all actions – both civil and criminal – where a victim of sexual assault is referenced.

Thank you for consideration of our comments.

Sincerely,

Samuel Chung, President

Superior Court Judges' Association

cc: SCJA Board of Trustees
Allison Lee Muller, AOC